PDA

View Full Version : first truck, LCO no trailer

Oasis360
08-16-2010, 03:35 AM
I am a lawn and garden maintenance outfit looking to upgrade to my first truck from the van I started out with. I do not own a trailer, nor do I want one right away. I have the idea to place plyboard sheets 4 feet tall above the top of bed on the truck, and use the space created for yard debris and equipment separated by tarping divider. My question is this- should I go compact or full sized diesel? I would be hauling 1 21inch walk behind, line trimmer, backpack blower, hedge trimmers, hand tools, and yard debris only. I want fuel efficiancy and heard diesels matched that of a compact truck. I will be buying used from auction, probably wanting a ranger or toyota pickup from early 90s or 6.9 ford diesel / 12valve 5.9 dodge diesel... Like I said Im just starting out, one man opp, mainly lawn and garden maintenance with no trailer - and I need fuel efficiency and reliability. Thanks for input
Posted via Mobile Device

MarcSmith
08-16-2010, 07:34 AM
before you start "mickey mousing" with the plywood, I would do a digital image of what 4' above the bed really looks like...I don' think you'll be happy.. Sanford and Son comes to mind

I know money is tight. but I would look into some sort of of expanded metal sides that would extend only as high as the cab...or some sort of ladder rack framework so you could do similar to what you need.

Keep in mind with your debris being "co-mingled" with your equipment I would expect a fair amount of dirt and debris in your fuel and air cleaners. for this reason alone I'd also want some sort of rack system to hold the hand tools out side of the bed.

since you are small operation why not a full size truck with a long bed with a smaller gas V8 or large V6. you won't be hauling as much stuff so you don' need the capacity yet. key word is YET plus gassers are cheaper to work on...