PDA

View Full Version : New to walk ways and patios

Ngs
08-17-2010, 11:17 PM
So im new to the whole hardscaping things of the business. Ive been doing a lot lawn installs, tree work, plantings and excavation through out the yrs and this year is the first year that i have had a high demands for walk ways and patios. Ive installed them working for a company in the past. But now that im on my own I have no idea where to start on how to price this kind of work. Any help would greatly appreciated. Thanks. Nick

zedosix
08-18-2010, 05:44 AM
So im new to the whole hardscaping things of the business. Ive been doing a lot lawn installs, tree work, plantings and excavation through out the yrs and this year is the first year that i have had a high demands for walk ways and patios. Ive installed them working for a company in the past. But now that im on my own I have no idea where to start on how to price this kind of work. Any help would greatly appreciated. Thanks. Nick

Talk with a local supplier to see if they offer any courses, keep researching and start small, maybe do a project at your place first and keep tabs of what it cost you in all aspects like fuel, matierals, rentals, labour etc. Hopefully you have a basic understanding now or you may be in for a long ride. Good luck.

DVS Hardscaper
08-18-2010, 10:30 PM
Gotta love the industry!

"I'm too good to work for someone, yet I'm clueless when it comes to configuring a cost and a proposal. But I sure do have a nice shiney Pick Up Truck with a cool smelling diesel engine............ "

Krafty
08-18-2010, 10:42 PM
DVS I understand where you are comming from with the pricing we see these questions all of the time. But really did you know everything there was to know about hardscaping the day you opened your doors?