PDA

View Full Version : mower selection

steve z
08-04-2002, 03:52 PM
I am currently searching for a commercial mower for residential use.I would like to get one that is built real well,that I can repair myself(I am a mechanic).I am mowing 2.5 acres and would like to mow it in as little time as possible.Lawn has somewhat sloping terrain.I am able to mow with a 60" deck and would like to stay in the mid20's range as far as hp go's.The 50 or so brands of commercial mowers brings lots of confusion into the picture.I am considering an outfront style mower because of cost and ease of deck maintenance but am wondering if a ztr would not be a better choice.I will not be trailering this machine.The dealers in my area carry,Scag,gravely,grasshopper,deines,toro,exmark and bobcat.I have put a ceiling on cost of around 7 grand.If any of you real proffessionals can help me in making my decision it will be appreciated.

65hoss
08-04-2002, 08:32 PM
eXmark Lazer 60"!!!! Last mower you'll ever buy being a homeowner.

awm
08-04-2002, 10:58 PM
1996 lazer w 52 deck , an u wont wear it out either.course shes a little sentimentally attached. but i believe 7 would get her.

Richard Martin
08-04-2002, 11:16 PM
If all you're going to cut is 2.5 acres then you should look into the walkbehinds. You can get a real nice hydro 60" walkbehind with a sulky for well under 7 grand. I would look at the Exmark or Scag.

captdevo
08-04-2002, 11:40 PM
i would look into and demo a hustler fastrak, for under $5500, you'll have a well built ztr which is great on slopes and speed, and offer ease of service.

click here for details (http://www.hustlerturfequipment.com)

click here for their forum and see the feedback! (http://www.lawnsite.com/forumdisplay.php?forumid=31)

http://www.rpm-co.com/images/fastrak.jpg

Shultz
08-05-2002, 12:45 AM