PDA

View Full Version : Reverse on WB's

Gomow
08-04-2002, 05:49 PM
I don't understand the posts I see about WB's that don't have (or have assisted) reverse. I have a 36" Sapper w/12.5 Kawa belt drive and it will back up with me standing on the sulkey....up hill... faster than I want to...and I weigh in at about 275! Is it the hydros that don't reverse, or is it other brands beside Snapper? I'm currently looking into getting a 52" Snapper hydro from a friend, and haven't thought to ask him about reverse. Also, why aren't the Snappers well thought of here? I've been using mine for 2 years (bought used) and haven't had any problems at all. Just curious.

LAWNGODFATHER
08-04-2002, 05:55 PM
Many of the belt drive WB's won't back up, but they assist you pulling them in reverse.

All the hydro's I know of have a positive reverse.

Gomow
08-04-2002, 05:57 PM
Thanks for the quick reply!

gvandora
08-04-2002, 06:33 PM
Its because of the nature of the pulley systems on belt WB's. The tensioning pulley on top only works effective when the belt in moving in the forward direction. If it goes backward the tensioning pulley gets pushed away. For a belt reverse to be effective it would need a second tensioning pulley below each belt. Because reverse is used so infrequently since you must physical shift into that gear instead of simply squeezing the handle like a hydro it makes no sense to complicate the pulley system.

edward hedrick
08-04-2002, 09:56 PM
Some belt drives have an idler for reverse Gravely was one.

I use a Toro T bar. you put tension on belt instead of a spring.

Have no problem in reverse even with a Sulky. Ed

Richard Martin
08-04-2002, 10:07 PM