PDA

View Full Version : Discoloration from being mowed too low.

Amazing
08-20-2010, 11:41 AM
New sod laid about 3 weeks ago. KBG

Growing,rooting, filling nicely, then the homeowner did his first cut too low. 50% I'd say. It's not scalped, but slightly discolored (light green).

I'm just looking for a good answer to give him on how to bring it back to a lush dark green and minimize on weeds/stress. When/how much to water and for how long to get it back. Anything else that can help.

Appreciate the help .. I'm new to this and I don't want to give the wrong answer.

Big Bad Bob
08-20-2010, 06:40 PM

Growing,rooting, filling nicely, then the homeowner did his first cut too low. 50% I'd say. It's not scalped, but slightly discolored (light green).

I'm just looking for a good answer to give him on how to bring it back to a lush dark green and minimize on weeds/stress. When/how much to water and for how long to get it back. Anything else that can help.

Appreciate the help .. I'm new to this and I don't want to give the wrong answer.
Tell him that, dammit, he's cutting too low! Tell him you aren't responsible for his bad practices. And, charge him for the advice. That is the right answer.

dgw
08-20-2010, 06:50 PM
so cut too much off then?

if so, nothing it will be fine in a couple days

same if cut it to low then tell him to cut it 3-31/2 inches

jeffslawnservice
08-20-2010, 07:31 PM
i think it will be fine in a few days but just in case tell him to water it a little extra. Morning and evening (after 5 but not to late and not a whole lot of water because you do not want root rot or any other diseases.) And make sure you let him know that he needs to cut it higher. Home owners always come back all pissed off where there sod dies after they cut it too short. And its even after i tell them and give them written instructions about how to take care of sod.

Big Bad Bob
08-20-2010, 08:32 PM