PDA

View Full Version : Zama C1Q Check Valve Replacement with Pics

Maico490
08-21-2010, 02:32 PM
Hi everyone. I'm a newbie here and have only posted once on a thread on a primer bulb going dry on a Stihl trimmer. Searching throws up the fact that a lot of people have symptoms which point towards check valve problems. The general reply is "Get a new Carb" which is the case if the check valve is not working on the idle circuit. However the main check valve is fairly easily replaced for $4. This is copied over from a post i made on a chainsaw site:

This has been my first experience with the notorious check valves found on newer carbs. I've been chasing this problem on a FS450 trimmer for a while but luckily it has been between cuts on Water Authority sites. Searching here didn't throw up much but these carbs are used on lots of blowers, trimmers and smaller saws. The carb is a Zama C1Q-S34H which is fixed jet with only what appears to be an air screw (reverse thread) for idle adjustment.Symptoms were hard starting, inconsistant idle which couldn't be adjusted and would run out of fuel with an inch still left in the tank. When operating the primer bulb you could keep pumping without it becoming full and air bubbles were visible in the bulb. At full throttle everything was fine but as soon as you let off it would often stop dead. New lines, primer bulb,fuel filter and a rebuild kit did nothing. The answer was eventually found on Zama's excellent website: http://www.zamacarb.com/tips.html.
Before you do anything to a Zama carb I would recommend reading all the Service Tips. Especially DO NOT BLOW COMPRESSED AIR THROUGH A CARB WITH CHECK VALVES. It seems you also have to be careful with aerosol carb cleaner if directed straight into the valve with an extension tube.

http://www.lawnsite.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=197272&stc=1&d=1282415370