PDA

View Full Version : Photography

RLI Electric
08-22-2010, 01:24 PM
I finally got a camera and now that I am taking a pictures I need to tone down some stuff. Has anyone used Light Studio 3 by Adobe? I don't want to go to a full blown Photoshop as cool as it would be, the learning curve would be way to long. All I want to do is tone down some of the brightness in my shots. Although once I learn how to use the camera, that should help too. Light Studio has a free trial that I may try.

cgaengineer
08-22-2010, 01:30 PM
Shooting in RAW would allow the best possible changes without much loss and Adobe Elements should be what you need.
Posted via Mobile Device

INTEGRA Bespoke Lighting
08-22-2010, 02:31 PM
For total newbies, I would recommend you start with Picasa3, free from google. Then as you get to understand the basics you can move up to Photoshop Elements (usually free with printers etc). I dont think that many of us can make use of all the features that come with the full Photoshop Package.

Shooting in RAW format is fine, once you know what you are doing with Photoshop, but until then using a high resolution JPG will be just fine.

White Gardens
08-22-2010, 03:06 PM
Picasa is a good one.

I use Artweaver and it works well for me.

emby
08-22-2010, 07:08 PM
Hey Bob what make and model of camera did you pick up?
When I purchased mine(Nikkon D60) I did a bit of roaming through some of the older threads here and played around from that very helpful information.
After making the adjustments to the settings I was very pleased with the final shots.
RAW is deffently better for making adjustments as noted above.

Ken

RLI Electric
08-22-2010, 07:36 PM
I have a Canon Rebel XTi with an 18 to 55 lens. I also have a 28 to 105 lens.

cgaengineer
08-22-2010, 07:54 PM