PDA

View Full Version : is it worth buying

jsandy1219
08-23-2010, 11:00 AM
I have a 54 fast trak and love it, i have stripping kits on my other mowers and i think they make a huge diff. on the outcome of the yard so i am thinking about putting one on this hustler too however on this mower they are the rollers and i have never used rollers for stripping before so i really dont know how well they work plus they are really expensive. So far i have got mixed advice on the people i have asked but these people didnt have the same mower either, if you have this kit on your mower i would really like to know what you think about the roller kits before you had them on your mower and after. thanks

mowerconsultant
08-23-2010, 07:27 PM
They are a nice kit and work well, I am sure people will chime in, in the mean time here is a pic of one.

http://www.hustlerturf.com/images/attachments/large/FTstripe_roller.jpg

cbkc
08-26-2010, 02:05 AM
I used a roller from "Big League Lawns" for a few years on a couple different Hustlers. They worked well but I just didn't like it sticking out of the back of the mower. When making tight turns it was like having a trailer behind you and it would sometimes hit things when making turns. I haven't used it this year on my Super Z and it still stripes great without any striping kit. My final answer is not to get one, use a high lift blade or use a strip of rubber on the back of the deck or under the mower to help stripe. I believe a good mower set-up correctly with the right blades will stripe really well without additional help with a striping kit. If you are using a home depot mower then you would need to add a striping kit.

jsandy1219
08-28-2010, 08:19 PM
Thanks for the advice. You said it stuck out a lot and I agree it does, does it stay down at all times? and if so how did you load it on your trailer?

cbkc
08-31-2010, 03:12 AM