PDA

View Full Version : Trailer Brake Controllers - what to buy

rawtoxic
08-29-2010, 08:14 PM
Ok, I know there has to be something better than the Tekonsha Voyager brake controller I have been using in our trucks for the last 5 years, please let me know what you would recommend and why.

I don't like how many Voyager is so touchy with the balance setting needing changed for every trailer. I would prefer have a brake controller that does not need adjusted when I change trailers as I use 3 different trailers with the trucks.

Hoping to find something that will make me happy not frustrated, let me know what you like and why..

Thanks
RT

poncho62
08-29-2010, 08:37 PM
Different weight trailers are going to need different settings......something you have to live with........

Every controller I have ever tried is very touchy........wish they had a knob rather than that little slider

GravelyGuy
08-29-2010, 10:54 PM
I used the Prodigy P3 for two trailers and I only had to adjust it when the trailers were empty becuase the brakes would lock up. Worked pretty good.

rawtoxic
08-30-2010, 01:07 AM
Yes my trailers all weigh within about 500 pounds of each other, but I think the weight distribution of them is different and that effects the controller. Sometimes I can't get my voyager in the adjustment range.

bobs lawn care
08-30-2010, 11:47 AM
Tekoshna Prodigy P3

Kennedy Landscaping
09-01-2010, 12:51 AM
I've got a Hayes Energizer III and it works great IMO. My mowing trailer don't have brakes on it yet but I hope to do that sometime. Anyways, I pull a 20ft trailer sometimes and a 16ft trailer, both with brakes and it never locks up the brakes or needs adjusted.

Runner
09-01-2010, 07:57 AM
I have a Reese. It is nice because not only does it have a sensitivity adjustment, but a delay adjustment as well - setting the synchronization of the truck and trailer.

mowerbrad
09-01-2010, 04:03 PM