PDA

View Full Version : Need help with wild bambu!!!

honslawn
08-30-2010, 06:27 PM
Have a client that a fence line full of bambu. Its about 120' long and 3 to 6' thick. Is there something that I can spray on it or any other tricks to get rid of this stuff. This is my first time dealing with bambu and I need to give her a bid. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Honslawn

bradseabridge
08-30-2010, 06:32 PM
damn, I feel bad for you that they let it get that bad.

honslawn
08-30-2010, 06:58 PM
Yah, that's why we're in the business, though! We fix what they can't!

Johnny test
08-30-2010, 07:14 PM
A trimmer with a saw blade.?... Is it real Bamboo or the Bamboo grass or Nandina? What diameter? You could dig some up and resell it.... Here everyone likes it to use as a screen but no one sells it.. So it's a hot item..

underPSI
08-30-2010, 10:16 PM
You mean to tell me that people actually plant the stuff? Bamboo is like Kudzu and is darn near impossible to eradicate.

greendoctor
08-31-2010, 02:33 AM
If the bamboo is not growing anywhere near the dripline or root zone of desirable trees and plants, there is a way to control it chemically with one or two applications. If it is, I suggest cutting it down, allowing it to regrow green leaves, then applying RoundUp. Disregard everything I have said if you are not licensed to apply pesticides commercially.

tallrick
08-31-2010, 03:01 AM
I like the stuff, even planted it in my own yard but it has not grown thick, just pops up where it wants. A skid steer and root grapple gets rid of the small to medium stuff. You will take a lot longer getting rid of the monster bamboo unless you get a dozer. I got rid of a patch of it as a favor a couple of years back and it never returned.

Southern Elegance
08-31-2010, 08:32 PM
dont do this job

RussellB
08-31-2010, 08:41 PM