PDA

View Full Version : eaton 778 repair/replacement

linerider
09-02-2010, 07:24 PM
Hi,
I have an older steiner ztm200 18 hp briggs and 52" deck. The right side hydro is an eaton 778-043 and has quit working. It acts like the fluid is not flowing inside of the hydro. I am going to try and take it apart this weekend. Have already downloaded the eaton directions from thier website. In case this is not repairable by the average person, I am a maintenance technician in a factory as my main job. Can anyone point me in the direction of someone that can rebuild thse and or where new ones can be obtained. Thanks for your time and any information you can give me.
Donald

pugs
09-03-2010, 05:11 PM
Do you have the actual model and serial of the unit? I dont think I need it but just in case.

Looks like you have a Steiner version of a Bobcat LEO... Ugh, the LEO had issues with those transmissions :(. Not really sure why since they seem very similar to the ones in Ferris Dual Drives and they hold up really well there under commercial use. Guess the extra weight from a rider? I dunno. Although I think Grasshopper used them in riders long ago too...so who knows.

How many hours are on your unit? You may want to contact SGC and see if they will help you out at all. There is a bulletin dealing with these. If one fails prematurely outside of the warranty period they will give you a better price on a new transaxle unit to replace it. Its worth a shot if you have fairly low hours on it but if you have a tons of hours I doubt they will help you out at all.

The trans from Bobcat is part 4129341 and lists for about ~$1140

kiser312
09-04-2010, 12:14 AM
Just rebuilt a 778. the " pump Rotor" is usually the weak link. it has a brass bushing that wears out and usually locks up the pump rotor. The hardest part is taking the pump apart making sure no bearing or springs fly out. A new filter is 20 bucks and the pump rotor was 85 bucks from Eaton. The wait was about 6 weeks. good luck