PDA

View Full Version : How much to water lawn during AZ summer?

AZ guy
08-12-2002, 08:04 PM
I started my grass from seed in mid April. I used the Scott's Sun and Shade kind. At first, I was keeping the ground very wet while the seeds were sprounting, like 2-3 minutes each time, four times a day. Now that the lawn is semi-established (with many bald spots), I am watering twice a day for 4-5 minutes each time. I know it seems like a lot, but the grass looked like it was drying out. There are a lot of brown patches now, and even with the 110 degree heat I am afraid I am overwatering it. Should I just be watering once a day? Every two days? For how long? Thanks for any advice you all can give a newbie.

HOWARD JONES
08-13-2002, 06:40 PM
I'm really not an expert on this, but it sounds like you are definitely NOT overwatering. Try checking the earth 2 or 3 inches down - dig some of it up and see if it is somewhat damp. Once you see the results, you can check it next time by sticking a screwdriver in the ground - if you can drive it in! Different soils require or can tolerate differing amounts of watering but I'd be surprised if you are giving it enough.

AZ guy
08-24-2002, 04:19 AM
Well it sure looks like the whole lawn is dead now. Is ther no one on this forum who lives in AZ? I sure wish I knew if I killed it by over or under watering. I may just end up putting som esod down next time. When is the best time to do this? Can I do it now?

larrv45390
09-05-2002, 01:43 AM