PDA

View Full Version : Anyone do trade shows?

RLI Electric
09-27-2010, 07:01 AM
I am looking to do a Garden Trade show this upcoming year and I was wondering if you have any suggestions for it. I have never done a trade show before so if you have advice on things (don't feel limited to just offerings) please let me know. It is a 4 day long show so any advice is welcome. Such as taller chairs to put you closer to the standing position. It sound ridiculous but I have been to trade show and watched people in their booth sit down only to stand right back up again. Do this a couple hundred times a day and I would assume that it gets exhausting. I am just speculating but it seems as if this minor thing can be resolved in a more ergonomic way making a show much more enjoyable for the salesperson. Would you offer giveaways, free consultation for "show attendees only", anything else that I am not aware of? Thanks for any input.

INTEGRA Bespoke Lighting
09-27-2010, 10:52 PM
Hi Bob. If you do a search of this forum you will find a lot of info about trade shows, booth design, tips, etc. It has been discussed in the past.

I have not done any trade shows in years but they have been very good to me. I used to do a show in March that was targeted directly to my prospective market and that was a very strong boost for sales. One year I completely sold out my entire installation season just from the leads I generated at that show.

Be prepared to work your butt off, and don't even bother with a stool or a seat! If you are doing your job, you won't have a minute to sit down. I can remember at one point having a line up of people waiting to talk to me. I had to resort to "culling" the crowd by looking at watches and shoes to determine who the spenders were. Good times...