PDA

View Full Version : New Small Business Bill

stevenf
09-27-2010, 06:44 PM
Obama signed the new small business bill which is supposed to add tax breaks and loan banks the money for small business loans(which is completely the banks decision on what to do with the money).
Im not very good with reading comprehension so give it to me straight...
What tax breaks do we get and how is the loan process actually going to benefit us? If at all....

lawntennis
09-27-2010, 08:12 PM
I am in the process of buying another business. My loan officer told me that the SBA can gurantee up to 90% of my loan and the fees on loans will begreatly reduced. He said it will save me about $4000. It was a nice phone call to get.

Az Gardener
09-27-2010, 09:33 PM
I am in the process of buying another business. My loan officer told me that the SBA can gurantee up to 90% of my loan and the fees on loans will begreatly reduced. He said it will save me about $4000. It was a nice phone call to get.

No disrespect but I think if you are doing something as risky as buying a business you need to have more skin in the game. 10% is nothing and as one of the folks paying for the backing of the loan I think its a bad investment.

Did Barney Frank move over to the SBA? This is just like the housing debacle all over again. For decades the standards were consistent and everything worked fine. The government gets involved and the whole industry goes into the tank.

Only now it will be unemployed folks buying businesses because they can't find a job, cashing in IRA's for down payments on business that are not worth the selling price. And bought by people who have no business running a business.