PDA

View Full Version : Bid Guaranty / Contract Bond

abcfamily
09-28-2010, 09:24 PM
I am wanting to submit a bid with the county for the mowing of two parks and a bike path.
Some time ago I read a thread where someone said you can go through the bank to get a bid guaranty and not have to pay the full 10% yourself.
I have spent the last 20 minutes searching for it to no avail.
So if you know the thread that I am referring to and can find it for me that would be great.
This is my first attempt at non-residential work so any insight you are willing to share on bid guaranty's or contract bonds would also be much appreciated.
Thanks for your help!!

abcfamily
09-29-2010, 05:27 AM
Good morning bump!!!

txgrassguy
09-29-2010, 09:13 AM
Typically a bond or surety bond is all that is required to secure governmental contracts.
Banks don't issue these things, your insurance company does - speak with your G.L. provider for bond data as it is part of your underwritten package.

Now, if you are uninsured/under insured you will have a hard time acquiring any sort of surety unless you are individually wealthy and pledge assets as collateral.

abcfamily
09-29-2010, 12:15 PM
Typically a bond or surety bond is all that is required to secure governmental contracts.
Banks don't issue these things, your insurance company does - speak with your G.L. provider for bond data as it is part of your underwritten package.

Now, if you are uninsured/under insured you will have a hard time acquiring any sort of surety unless you are individually wealthy and pledge assets as collateral.

O.K. thanks I will contact my carrier, so are Bid Guaranty / Contract Bonds essentially the same thing? Sorry for my lack of knowledge, I do appreciate your help.

txgrassguy
09-30-2010, 09:06 AM