PDA

View Full Version : For those who bag, need some input please.

f50lvr2
10-06-2010, 02:31 AM
Greetings all, I don't post much here but check often to see what people are up to and get reviews.

Anyway, I've been mowing full time for the last 2 years after graduating college and am looking to expand. Currently I am running an exmark vantage and a BOP dually as my main equipment. I am reaching the limit of what I can do by myself at about 60-70 residential accounts per week plus some extras (fert, aeration, seeding, etc.) thrown in occasionally. I run a legitimate business, am incorporated, insured, charge appropriately, and don't try to poach other LCO's customers.

My main question concerns how you guys that bag everything suggest as the best way to collect and dispose of your clippings. In my area probably half or more of the companies collect the grass, but nobody has a good way to get rid of it. We only have one dump that accepts yard waste and they close early in the day and are about 40miles away. It seems that a lot of people want their yards bagged and are not receptive to having it mulched or discharged regardless of how nice it looks and very few are willing to have bagged grass left on property.

I'm trying to find some land just outside the city to build a shop and house and was wondering if it would be feasible to dump on my own property. My worry is that a year of mowing is going to create an enormous amount of waste.

And before everybody screams Walker, I have a negative prejudice about them as I have owned a couple and they were nothing but trouble and the dealers around me were awful. By the way, most of the grass around here is a fescue blend and most of my properties are residential around 7-10k. Thanks everybody!

Sammy
10-06-2010, 02:54 AM
Buy enough land that you can have a couple of steers on it to feed the grass to.

yardatwork
10-06-2010, 09:28 AM