PDA

View Full Version : stump grinder info

JCLawn and more
10-12-2010, 02:34 PM
ok, I am looking at getting into this. I am looking at a walk behind model 5hp-25hp. What is good, and what is bad? What do you charge? and how? What is the cost used for these little buggers?

JCLawn and more
10-12-2010, 04:49 PM
bump, anyone?

kilgoja
10-12-2010, 10:26 PM
i been thinking of this too...i've seen some in a Northern Tool catalog...they have honda engines in 3 different sizes...starting at $2000 and up....others i've seen are a DR version for $2000 as well and a husqvarna version that was $4000 on their website...the honda engine ones would be great....the smallest one is a 5.5hp engine...and the others are bigger...i have no experience with them so i'm not sure if 5.5hp is enough or if it would bog down on bigger stumps for example....the bigger versions were quite a bit more like around $3000 for the middle one and $4000 for the biggest engine...i have seen some tree guys around but they have the huge stump grinders that are hauled like a trailer behind a truck...they cost a whole lot more i'm sure...probably faster for sure but can't fit them in tight spaces or in backyards with gates/fences and such...the normal rate around here is like $50-$100 a stump depending on the size of it

JB1
10-12-2010, 10:36 PM
I rented a small one like your describing and it beat the crap out of me using it. I see why they have the bigger ones easier and faster to use.

kilgoja
10-12-2010, 10:40 PM
yeah i imagine it would be something similar to running a garden tiller lol

i think they have like a brake thing you lock down on one wheel and you just work it side to side

FLAhaulboy
10-12-2010, 11:00 PM
http://www.amazon.com/Bluebird-Stump-Grinder-390CC-SG1314A/dp/B000RO7S9A