PDA

View Full Version : Installing a new engine

cmos123
10-27-2010, 05:20 PM
Hello, I have been using the Snapper mower from Sears for two years, it is not commercial and the engine is now trash. I was going to replace it with a commercial Briggs which I found for 240. They have the same shaft dimensions, but how do I know if the bolt pattern is the same? Or are they all the same? Thanks for any info you might have.

jkilov
10-27-2010, 06:53 PM
Nearly all makes, say Honda, Briggs, Kawasaki, Tecumseh etc. use the same bolt pattern. What you must be sure about is the crankshaft length, correctly measured from the base plate and not the output.

$240 seems kinda high for a briggs, you can get a commercial unit for $300.

cuttin-to-the-Max
10-27-2010, 08:07 PM
Best thing to do is go to a local dealer and have them look it up! I will tell you they are NOT ALL THE SAME!!!!! i tried to do this with my old non commercial Toro rear engine rider and it didnt work out well......
The 8HP briggs motor was the orig.
Broke down so i secided to get a HONDA 8hp that was on sale (brand new!) at small engine warehouse (they have a site great fast shipping ordered friday night got to me monday morning)

The honda one was too big shaft size was correct
but the motor just wouldnt fit and the holes didnt line up!
if you have to return it you have to pay for shipping and usually a restocking fee....(that was my case) Which meant i was gonna loose $300 i would get my $200 back though

I figure i mise well just strap it on and run the tractor
forgot to put oil in it!:cry::cry::cry::cry::cry:

It was working until then! Ran and CUT!

White Gardens
10-27-2010, 08:44 PM
Shoulda drilled some new holes and made it work.

cuttin-to-the-Max
10-27-2010, 09:05 PM
Shoulda drilled some new holes and made it work.