PDA

View Full Version : Anyone contracted with home or commercial builders?

andyslawncare
10-29-2010, 02:45 AM
I have been marketing to new subdivisions (mostly ones that are still developing). It has done very well for me so far; I've been doing it for about 2 months.

I've been getting really mad at myself when I go to work there and I see competition doing full installs to 3 houses in a row at the same time!

I know my credentials are a close match to most of them!

I'm usually called out for back and side plant installation, sod installations, and irrigation additions, since the builders usually supply only curb appeal.

What's the best way to get hired by them?

I understand it is a risk to work for builders, since they're always going bankrupt (lately) and several guys are owed by them for 3+ months, but if and when the checks come in, everything is well (and possibly above average for a provider like myself)...am I just thinking out of my A$$, or how is the building industry now for others reading this?

The good builders are building, and the others are still vacant lots and half built lots.

I have a list of at least 10 good home builders with developing neighborhoods in my service area right now...should I cold call, talk with the people in the model homes, or visit the build sites in person to learn who to talk to?

I just figure that if I'm working at the houses they build after someone moves in, it would be nice to do all of it + the additions later :)

Danscapes
10-29-2010, 01:18 PM
Stick with what your doing. Sounds like the homeowners are the ones paying you. If you contracted with a builder you would more than likely always be chasing your money. Just my 2 cents, I've heard horror stories.

White Gardens
10-29-2010, 01:54 PM
Builders also want everything done on the cheap too. They like to keep their margins to 25% profit on homes.