PDA

View Full Version : Spraying lawn pesticides, what kind of sprayer setup to use?

MowinginEureka
11-04-2010, 07:35 PM
I have been fertilizing my accounts using an earthway spreader for a few years now. I find its a good low cost and efficient method for my accounts, most of which being sub 2000 sq foot yards with narrow gates...being so small I sold my walker mower and found it faster to use my walkbehind hondas... Anyhow, I did pesticide applications for the first time using an earthway spritzer sprayer, went through by my estimates 240 gallons of pesticide mix, with my 5.5 gallon sprayer...thats refilling about 43 times...ugh. I charge about 4 cents per square foot to spray in my smaller accounts due to all of the time to turn my sprayer around for each lap every 10 seconds or so...but in my large accounts 6-12k sq foot, I charge closer to 2 cents per sq foot since its wide open and I dont have to turn around as much. Since I only apply Ortho weed b gone max once a year typically to the turf, to control lawn weeds. I'm having a hard time justifying spending my whole profit spraying all my applications on a three thousand dollar pesticide sprayer rig. Is there someway to assemble your own setup and run an electric motor off of a fuseable connection the my trucks motor? Maybe using a smaller 50 gallon setup. I have a dump bed setup on my other truck that's run that way. I don't see why you need a gas engine mounted to a sprayer tank unless you are running it for hours on end. Looking for some feedback on which direction to go here. Thanks.

MowinginEureka
11-04-2010, 08:30 PM