PDA

View Full Version : Fert Prices: Decided not to buy fertilizer early

lawnlandscape
12-07-2010, 03:43 PM
With all the hype about fertilizer prices going through the roof I was strongly considering ordering everything I would need for 2011 in now. In previous years we would order the amount we needed right before each application.

After spending the past 2 days researching the corn futures, analyzing the market, and speaking to different suppliers I have decided NOT to buy my fertilizers early. Don't quote me on this, because I am not an expert at all, but based on my own personal research, I would expect the price of corn to remain about the same as it is now until spring.

My supplier did tell me that if I did want to buy now, he would write terms so the payment would not be due until May 15th 2011. But, corn is higher then it normally is already, and will be kicking myself if it goes down and I had to store it all winter and also pay more.

If it goes up another 10%, I will reconsider ordering early, but I just don't see it going up $2-$3 a bag by spring.

What does everyone else honestly think?

rcreech
12-07-2010, 10:09 PM
With all the hype about fertilizer prices going through the roof I was strongly considering ordering everything I would need for 2011 in now. In previous years we would order the amount we needed right before each application.

After spending the past 2 days researching the corn futures, analyzing the market, and speaking to different suppliers I have decided NOT to buy my fertilizers early. Don't quote me on this, because I am not an expert at all, but based on my own personal research, I would expect the price of corn to remain about the same as it is now until spring.