PDA

View Full Version : Opinion on a 1996 Isuzu NPR 14' Bed 2' Dovetail

MowSavannah
12-31-2010, 12:28 AM
I found what seems to be a pretty good deal on a 1996 Isuzu NPR - Turbo Diesel. It has a 14' landscape bed (pic below) New Alternator, New Turbo, the transmission seems a bit off. It drives decent, but you have to let off te gas for it to shift sometimes. I am not a truck mechanic and am going to have it looked at but wanted to know if any of you have had experience with these and the transmissions? Thanksin advance for your expertise.

http://i1130.photobucket.com/albums/m531/CleanSavannah/AAPMNPR2.jpg

BShaffer
01-01-2011, 04:40 PM
mow savannah

I bought a 99', it only had 80K on it when I got it. The tranny seemed weak, and within 6 weeks she was in the shop getting rebuilt. It cost $2300, but now its much better. I credit that to engaging the dump bed incorrectly and bad drivers. I have used a company called BUSBEE truck parts. I think they are in S. carolina. They are great. Google them and give them a call.

MowSavannah
01-07-2011, 12:14 AM
WEll I went ahead and bought it. Logo'd it up and got it out working.

http://i1007.photobucket.com/albums/af196/savwash/Pooler-Burroughs-20110104-00097.jpg

knox gsl
01-07-2011, 12:21 AM
I just put 650 miles on an overloaded NPR today and holding gears seems to be normal for them. These trucks are great in town but they suck on the highway.

BShaffer
01-07-2011, 10:45 PM
She's a beaut ClarK!! Thats perfect two or three man crew, What did she run ya?

Im trying to find another, now.

MowSavannah
01-07-2011, 11:42 PM