PDA

View Full Version : Help-need advice---- zone 6--crabrass!

michaelthomas1
01-07-2011, 03:49 PM
My name is Michael--Bonded -licensed-Insured-Certified
I come to you as a learner. Need help as I am new to organic this year
Here is my question-------- here is my past app plan:
Feb--granule Dimension-19-0-6 full rate
March--spray blanket 3 way,greens fee-15-0-0
Early April--Milorganite -granule
Late April--3 way-15-0-0 spray blanket
May--Dimension-granule-full rate
grass by middle july is under stress and lots of crabgrass in july and august

New plan for 2011:
Feb.--nutrients plus-granule fert
March--blanket spray-3 way,prodiamine 1#,ict tea --all mixed
April-Compost tea,spot spray weeds
may--compost tea
june-compost tea,spot spray weeds
august-spot weed spray
sept.--aerate-fescue seed
nov.--winertize-nutrients plus

based on the new plan for zone --6 Tennessee--will the one app in March carry good results for crabgrass in late june and july or should i put another app in with the compost tea either in april or may. will the prodiamine put stress with 2nd app or not?
Wanting to go more organic --or do any of you see a better plan of apps for crabgrass doing 7 apps with aerate-seed in fall(Fescue )

Thanks --Michael

Smallaxe
01-07-2011, 05:41 PM
We don't get as hot as you do in TN. But I think the focus on NOT allowing turf stress to promote CG in the first place, may be an avenue worth investigating.
Here I mulch mow, mow high or not at all in July, avoid early spring fertilizer, and overseed at any time...
Abusive irrigation causes its own problems and has a lot to do with additional root inhibitor application, which in turn stresses the turf, by itself.
Methodology has a lot more impact, than the source of NPK... :)

JDUtah
01-07-2011, 06:38 PM
Some new post emergent pesticides work well on CG. Have you thought about applying them at ideal times? This plan could be a safety net as needed in case your pre falls short of expectations.