PDA

View Full Version : 2001 Dodge Dakota question

fixer67
01-12-2011, 07:54 PM
I have a 2001 Dodge Dakota that I need a little help on. The differential is not what I want it to be. Once one wheel starts spinning it is game over. I want it so when one wheel spins the other kicks in (limited slip?). What am I looking at to get it upgrade?

fixer67
01-12-2011, 08:06 PM
OK I found a better way to ask my question.
How do I convert an open differential to a limited slip differential?
Or do I have to change out the differential all together?

Deori
01-12-2011, 10:07 PM
I'm no mechanic, so feel free to jump in and correct me anyone, but you can go either way. Either a swap or a regear:

You can regear the existing differential, but you're looking at probably around a $1000 or more if you have someone do it for you from what I've seen, probably 400-600 if you do it yourself, depending on what you pay in parts. That's just a guess, you could definitely get a quote if you're really interested, but personally I'd be hesitant to drop $1000 unnecessarily into a 10 year old truck for gears. Most of the people I see regearing their trucks is for when they want to stick huge tires on them.

I believe you could take the differential parts off of a truck at the scrap yard that has the gears you want and swap them out. Also if you've got 4WD you have to change the gears in the front as well.

I looked into it a little bit and it's a quite a bit of work and not something to be attempted by an amateur mechanic (not calling you one, just saying that it's not something I would attempt myself). If you don't get everything set in there and calibrated just right, you can cause yourself some damage and costly repairs.

That's just my .02 on it, doing a little bit of googling on "differential regearing" will yield you all kinds of information. Is your current set up causing you a lot of problems?

fixer67
01-12-2011, 10:32 PM