PDA

View Full Version : Curved shaft weed eaters

Gravelyftw
01-19-2011, 07:52 PM
I recently went to work for a different company and my new boss uses curved shaft weed eaters. POS homeowner single stranded echos to be precise. And I cant seem to get them down to save my life. I have about 3 years of experience with the stihl FS100x and felt that i was more then profficient with it. I even used it to vertically edge the sidewalks and driveways. But now that I have to use these echos I have a hard time trying not to scalp the yards up and an even harder time trying to edge the beds. And forget even thinking about edging grass to concrete with them.
Not to mention It KILLS my back i mean ive never had back problems untill i started using the cirved shafts. Why do they even make them? Do ANY of you guys use curved weed eaters? I feel like everytime some one sees me using the weedeater they're thinking, "look at this idiot using a homeowner weed eater."

Clark Griswold
01-19-2011, 08:11 PM
I've never used a straight shaft before so I'm just the opposite of you on the subject. I guess it's just comes down to what you are used to using!

I will admit that using a straight shaft would definitely be better using under bushes but I don't have that many so no big deal!

Mine will last about 2 years then just throw it away and get a new one!

I do a lot of delicate & fine trimming so what I use is just perfect at low RPM's!

KFLAWN
01-19-2011, 08:36 PM
no way! I think the problem with the curve shaft weedeaters is that they spin the opposite way. making them dig to the dirt

Gravelyftw
01-19-2011, 08:40 PM
Both the straight and curved that i have used both spun clockwise.

Richard Martin
01-19-2011, 08:42 PM
Why don't you buy a trimmer that you'd like to use? A Stihl trimmer will easily last for years and years. Let the boss buy the gas, oil and trimmer line.

Darryl G
01-19-2011, 08:44 PM