PDA

View Full Version : how do you grease spindles?

Barrett Landscaping
01-26-2011, 06:15 PM
how do you guys grease your spindles. It is time for me to do it and looking for advise.:usflag:

SouthSide Cutter
01-26-2011, 06:27 PM
12V grease gun 5 shots on low twice a week, with Lucas syn grease. Never had to replace a spindle on any mower in 12yrs. 2000hrs on one mower!!!

rreyn1812
01-26-2011, 06:30 PM
Depends on the mower! Some mowers aren't designed for it. For those that are, make sure the fitting is clean, the end of the grease gun is clean, you are using the correct grease iaw manufacturers' specifications, and you apply an appropriate # of pumps of the gun (I generally do about 5 or 6 and I've never seen anyone say exactly what is the correct amount!).

Barrett Landscaping
01-26-2011, 06:35 PM
i run all scag mowers. is there a nipple that i shoot it into? sorry, i am new to scags.

djagusch
01-26-2011, 06:36 PM
While its not always convenent greasing them after use (warm bearings) gets the grease in there good.
Posted via Mobile Device

djagusch
01-26-2011, 06:38 PM
i run all scag mowers. is there a nipple that i shoot it into? sorry, i am new to scags.

See your service manual for grease points or ask the dealer. Depending on the model there can be 10 plus points to hit.
Posted via Mobile Device

oldclawn
01-26-2011, 06:42 PM
YES--see you dealer and down;oad the manual right from scag website. This is all basic stuff and if you're asking here you need to develope a dealer relationship asap.

BINKY1902
01-26-2011, 08:27 PM
I use Lucas synthetic as well. You can get a grease gun for around $20. Be sure to grease according to the manual. Overgreasing can be just as bad as not greasing at all. If a part needs grease it will have an alemite installed on it, which is what your calling a nipple. I would let the dealer go over the routine maintenance with you before you attempt anything yourself.

mowerbrad
01-26-2011, 08:37 PM