PDA

View Full Version : install 10 6ft white pine...your estimate please?

GarPA
09-08-2002, 07:46 AM
Guy calls me to install 10 6foot white pines in his yard. Says he heard I do very good work. Heres the bad part...one of the larger, more reputable (at least until now) LCO's in this area gave him a price of $400 to install...yes I said only $400. I was so ticked off I called them because I actually sub to them when I have a job thats too big for me to handle. THey always charge a good professional rate. So the foreman there tells me they are so hurting for work because nobody and he underscored NOBODY wants any new plantings because of the drought restrictions and the heat. Says he has to do something to keep his year around employees on the payroll. TOld him I know its tough right now getting any installs but even as a small operator, I would skip this job at $400. My bare bones bottom line price would be at least $600. Some details...customer already has the trees, no warranty will be given, customer supplies all materials (soil, peat, stakes etc), trees to be placed is a wind break pattern on one side of a flat yard. Am I out to lunch on my estimate? What ballpark price would you ask?? thanks much...ps..I hope this is not a sign of things to come that even legititimate operators are getting forced into lowballing like a scrub.

kris
09-08-2002, 08:51 AM
I guess he is willing to take a loss so his guys will keep working.

If he makes this a regular practise he won't have to worry about keeping guys busy ... he won't have a business.

As far as a fair quote ... probably around $100 per tree with the customer supplying all.

AGLA
09-08-2002, 03:17 PM
$2,760 for 10 six foot White Pines installed. That't trees, ammendments, and labor.

PAPS
09-08-2002, 05:12 PM
(10) 6'-7' White Pines = $1900.00 installed w/ a (1) year guarantee.

How you or that "huge co." can do the job for $400, and $600 is beyond me... GOOD LUCK

paul
09-08-2002, 05:50 PM