PDA

View Full Version : Isuzu NPR - Cold Starting Trouble

MowSavannah
02-12-2011, 04:04 PM
I have a 1995 Isuzu NPR Turbo Diesel.... just got it a month or so ago, have not put it on the road for work yet as I have been getting a few things sorted out. It has gotten pretty cold, I have no experience with Diesels or Isuzus.

Can you identify what these are and what they do? I am assuming it is a "choke" from the pictue on the knob but really do not know. Please let me know.

http://i1130.photobucket.com/albums/m531/CleanSavannah/IMG00255-20110209-0951.jpg
http://i1130.photobucket.com/albums/m531/CleanSavannah/IMG00254-20110209-0951.jpg

wambam
02-12-2011, 04:34 PM
yes i can help the top one is throttle twist to pight for more throttle just while parked.............not cruise cont. the light in dash is exaust brake u turn it off and on by pulln back on wiper control

MowSavannah
02-12-2011, 06:50 PM
yes i can help the top one is throttle twist to pight for more throttle just while parked.............not cruise cont. the light in dash is exaust brake u turn it off and on by pulln back on wiper control

You rule!!! Thanks! Now....why would you need more throttle when parked?

What does an exhaust brake do?

MowSavannah
02-13-2011, 06:54 AM
In addition to "wambam" and For Future Reference if others have questions about NPR stuff.....

The knob adjusts the idle rpm and the green lights in the dash means the exhaust brake is on. there is a indicator lever on the right hand side of the wheel pull back on it to turn the exhaust brake on and off.

On a NPR the exhaust brake is engaged by pulling back the wiper control lever. Keep this on when the vehicle is in motion and you'll really notice it saves on brake wear, and really helps slow down the vehicle at highway speeds and on downgrades, without using the brakes. The choke knob is used to adjust the idle speed during cold starts.