PDA

View Full Version : Single axle or Dual axle

wachonee
02-12-2011, 10:06 PM
I am new to the business and was looking for some advice. I have a 54" ztr and a 36" walk behind. Approximate weight 1200 lbs. What is the best trailer application for residential lawns. :dizzy:

hondarancher4435
02-12-2011, 10:18 PM
depends on lots of things. what will you be towing with, how big of a trailer do you want or need. i prefer my 6x16 tandem to any single axle ive pulled tows real nice. some advantages to the tandem are less tongue weight, less tire wear, higher capacity, more brakes if you have them on all wheels, if a tire goes flat you can usually limp it home. single axles are however cheaper and cost a little less to maintain.

if your only looking at like a 6x12 i say single axle but anything bigger go with a tandem

bel-nor
02-12-2011, 10:25 PM
A single axle trailer at least 12 foot long and 6 foot wide should take care of your equipment. The trailers in that range can handle about 2500-3000 pounds. Keep in mind you may be hauling mulch and other associated equipment/items such as ladders, tarped leafs and landscape materials. Try to purchase a good one long and strong enough for what you will be trailering and keep in mind any new equipment you may be pondering on. I got a 5x12 because there wasn't a 5x10 at the time on the lot, believe it or not that was what I really needed. I guess like boats it's easy to get two footitus:) Good luck to you this season.

Robert Pruitt
02-12-2011, 10:42 PM
I am new to the business and was looking for some advice. I have a 54" ztr and a 36" walk behind. Approximate weight 1200 lbs. What is the best trailer application for residential lawns. :dizzy:

are you sure that weight is not just the ztr? you should get a 16ft. enough room for the Z,W/B,21in. spreader and about 400# of fertilizer.

02-12-2011, 10:46 PM