PDA

View Full Version : Receiving Invoices, Checks

MICHPLOWER
02-26-2011, 08:47 PM
I am rather new to the business and want to start out correctly, When receiving checks and invoices do you make a copy of the checks before you deposit them into your bank. also how do the small or solo company's do the payable accounts and receivable accounts/Like when invoices come in, how or what do you do to show on your records that the person paid.

Thanks for any input or comments

SDelPrete
02-26-2011, 09:30 PM
i use quickbooks online to do my books..its easy to do and doesn't take much time. take a look at the site for the features.

Roger
02-26-2011, 09:48 PM
I agree with SDelPrete -- get QuickBooks to manage your finances. You can easily develop your invoices, accept payments, track expenses (whether by cash, check, debit, credit card), balance a checking account, reconcile the credit card account.

Your post was pretty vague, but it sounds like you are on Square #1, and need to get set up properly for managing all the financial parts of your business. QB will do that for you.

Hoots
02-27-2011, 12:28 PM
When I make a deposit I have the totalled deposit slip at the top and photocopy all checks associated with it. This is a quick way to investigate missing payments.

Use an accounting software, Quickbooks works for me.

dwlah
02-27-2011, 01:33 PM
quickbooks
when you go to recieve payments there is a space for check number associated with the customer invoice

GunnPropertyServices
02-27-2011, 03:16 PM
When I make a deposit I have the totalled deposit slip at the top and photocopy all checks associated with it. This is a quick way to investigate missing payments.

Use an accounting software, Quickbooks works for me.

I do the same thing with quickbooks works great, covers all your bases just incase theres a problems with checks

Johnny test
02-27-2011, 06:14 PM
Quickbooks contractor 2008 here.

Ooomwizard
02-28-2011, 11:33 PM