PDA

View Full Version : How to make new pine needles look "groomed"?

vencops
02-28-2011, 08:14 PM
I installed some pine needles at a property, yesterday. Wait....

**Disclaimer...I am NOT a professional!

OK...I got 'em in there nice and thick (good coverage). But, it still looked "not as good" as what I've seen photos of, here (been lurking). This is "a" part of my business (lawn care....minor landscaping). I'd just like to do whatever I do - RIGHT. Is there a trick?

Thanks.

THEGOLDPRO
02-28-2011, 08:21 PM
Best way is to not use them, they look horrible no matter what you do.

vencops
02-28-2011, 08:30 PM
Trust me....

If you were in my shoes, you'd use them, too.

johnsonslawnmanagement
02-28-2011, 08:37 PM
On the rare occasion we lay pinestraw, I run over it with a soft plastic rake, upside down. Also, it helps to wet them down either with a hose or irrigation before you run over them.
Posted via Mobile Device

vencops
02-28-2011, 08:39 PM
We got a heckuva rain storm here, today. I'm gonna ride by and look, tomorrow....just to see what they look like. They were really "full" looking when I left.

Putting water on them (unless I bring the water....or it's raining!), isn't an option. I wish it was.

johnsonslawnmanagement
02-28-2011, 08:44 PM
Try the rake method. It takes some practice but it helps lay them down
Posted via Mobile Device

twobroslawns
02-28-2011, 08:46 PM
It's kind of hard to explain...

While laying the straw, go about one foot past where you want the edge to be. Once you have gone all the way around whatever, get your blower and "roll" the pinestraw into itself by lightly blowing at the ground, under the straw. with our handheld blower, I just feather the throttle, quickly from idle to max to idle to max.... With the BR600, i just squeeze it a little bit and that is enough power... You really need to get the feel for it.

Check out our photo album https://picasaweb.google.com/twobroslawn
Click on pinestraw