PDA

View Full Version : Bagging Grass Clippings

MICHPLOWER
03-01-2011, 09:39 PM
I am just starting out this coming spring was wondering if you guys could help me out or give your input. I got pretty much all my pricing down but how much to charge if a customer wants their grass bagged.

I was wondering how much extra do you guys charge to bag grass?
I was thinking $7.00 - $10.00(depending on the size of lawn) Bigger yard more money.

Thanks for any input or help

michics
03-01-2011, 09:59 PM
Can't help you on the pricing, but some questions need to be asked. Will you dump the clippings on the property somewhere ? Will they go into yard bags to be placed on the street ? Will you remove from the property and then need to dispose of them ? Cost to dispose ? Labor, Labor, Labor.

ed2hess
03-01-2011, 10:16 PM
We found that just saying $5 was enough to back our customers away from bagging. No bagging anymore for the most part.....mulchers do a great job.

gebby
03-01-2011, 10:26 PM
I bag quite a bit. If you are going to haul away to dump later, Do your self a favor to haul the bags. Go to the feed store and get some poly feed bags, cut them in half and then sew 2 bags together. Of course keep the tops open to fill and dump out. These bags will last you several years if kept and taken care of. No tash bags this way. The bags can really take a lot of abuse and wont fall apart in your hands. I use them when cutting shrubs, doing leaves too. You can fill them up, you also can lay them down around the shubs to help with clean up. Just roll up the bags, slip the whole thing in the top and unroll in the bag. You will soon realize that bagging does take a lot of extra work. Spring time is really a killer. If it were me I would charge 2-4 dollars extra for each one of those bags. If possible dump at the location. I have one customer that like to put the grass clippings around his tomato plants. Mulch and discharge as much as you can. Good Luck !!

ncknaklawns