PDA

View Full Version : Advice On Bidding Large Subdvision

gravedigger5
09-15-2002, 12:31 AM
I've been cruising along here now for about 2 years as a part time LCO, thinking about going full time, kinda hoping they would lay me off at my other job forcing me to do this all the time. I'm to the point I know about what it will take money wise for my family to get by and about what amount of work it will take to generate that kind of money. Well I got a chance to bid on mowing an entire subdivision in my area. Mostly duplexes, appx 60 yards. Haven't done any measuring or walk the grounds yet but did drive by this evening. Doesn't look too complicated, and the yards are not too big. Just rough figuring in my head this would be a $6000+ a month account. I am solo now, would need to hire aleast 1 maybe 2 employees. Myself and 2 helpers should be able to knock this out in 2 days appx. The guy from the assc told me they wanted it on a per cutting basis, want to be able to call ahead of time and cancel a cutting if they think it is too dry, but some of the home owners water the lawn and some don't. And some of the owners like their lawn cut higher or shorter than others. Kind of sounds like a PITA job and if I do bid on it that will be taken into account. Sorry this post is so long, but would apprieciate some advise (neg or positive) I was also wondering is this typical when bidding whole subdivisions. Thanks Marc

Albemarle Lawn
09-15-2002, 12:46 AM
If so they will clobber your time on this job.

I had a similar situation with 34 duplexes, total about 13 acres.

We were at $500- $600/ cut for two years then were underbid.

Tell us more. $6K/month sounds high, that's $100/ mo per home, or about $35 per cut. They would have to be quite large or have a lot of common area to justify that.

Realistically, just make sure you get $15 per home ($30 per duplex) if they are under 1/3 acre each duplex, or about $25 for 1/4 acre, and the common areas are not too brutal.