PDA

View Full Version : how do u respond to the lowball??

mgoldman
03-02-2011, 02:31 PM
Howdy, i'm new to the lawn service game and I'm already experiencing getting substantially out bid. Maybe i charge too much, but i dont think i am. Today i got a response from a bid to rake and bag a 3/4 acre lawn with a seasons worth of leaves, to clean out 75 ft of rear gutters, to pick up all sticks in yard and haul it all away. I bid $170. The winning bid was $75; the home owner called and told me so. Was i just really that high? Seems like a lot 'o work and hauling for $75. Is this common? :confused:

ALC-GregH
03-02-2011, 02:35 PM
I would have wanted more. Someone with no credentials is doing it to either feed his family or get beer money. Lets hope they don't fall and hurt their self or the lady might get sued.

kilgoja
03-02-2011, 05:08 PM
don't rake it...run over it with your mower and mulch the leaves up...then you can charge $75....like the regular price of a cut

QualityLawnCare4u
03-02-2011, 05:14 PM
Before I do all you listed above for 75 bucks and I will put up every piece of equipment I have for sale and sit at the house! I think your price was very fair if not a tad on the low side. I'm affraid we are going to be seeing a LOT of this kind of pricing in the future. These kind of lowballers can't last forever but do a lot of damage before its over. And hauling it off also with gas just hitting 3.49 here today, he is doing it for free.:hammerhead:

Golfpro21
03-02-2011, 05:56 PM
that low baller is the same guy dumping what he took away oin a ditch on the side of a road somewhere too...has no dignity or concern for our environment

jbell36
03-02-2011, 06:12 PM
seems like i have ran into it the most this year than ever

aarons lawn
03-02-2011, 06:16 PM
id pe pissed off 170 is fair id tell thay guy youll doit 4 70 just to try n take that bonners work from him!!!!

Landrus2
03-02-2011, 06:19 PM