PDA

View Full Version : optimum spray configuration

crew
07-23-2000, 03:38 PM
This is my first year spraying. I am Licensed and certified and insured but have never done any spraying before. This season i only have a few customers for this service but am looking to expand this part of the biz.I am currently using an old JD tow behind spray rig cobbled onto a walk behind mower. OK for a few jobs, but...<br>I see the Big Guys with dedicated trucks and miles of hose on electric reels and hand held, low pressure (I assume)sprayers.<br>Any how my question is- what is a good spray rig for a guy looking to service less than 100 customers that wont break the bank? Is low pressure always better? Can a tow behind be used as effectivley as a truck mounted rig withn hand gun? I am primarily talking about weed control applications.<br>Any replies are greatly appreciated.

MOW ED
07-26-2000, 07:46 AM
Sorry I can't help but I am basically in the same boat as you and I am looking for someone to reply. <br>I do granular fert aps but have some lawns that are bad with weeds but right now I can't justify a tank. I've been using a backpack sprayer with some success but its slow. <br>Just my opinion but I believe that low pressure is better for herbicides because it should result in less drift.<br>BTW gonna be in the Mall by you in August. Stayin in Inver Grove Heights.

GroundKprs
07-26-2000, 11:57 AM
crew & MOW ED, you are missing a lot if you don't use search function above. Just click on blue &quot;search&quot; and enter SPRAY as what to search for. You will get 19 discussions with 50-60 comments. Many of these comments are answers to your questions, and the posters know they answered in detail recently, so they are inclined to ignore a question already answered.<p>----------<br>Jim<br>North central Indiana<br><p><font size="1">Edited by: GroundKprs

Evan528
07-26-2000, 03:13 PM