PDA

View Full Version : Shindaiwa T-270-Ever Returned One?

J. Bret Holder
09-15-2002, 10:37 PM
Hey Everyone!

I have been using Maruyama string trimmers since 1994. Our local Maruyama dealer down here shut down a few years ago. The closest Maruyama dealer now has some distance between us.

I recently purchased a Shindaiwa T-270 since I have heard how wonderful it is. Yes, it is a great machine until you flip it over and try to edge with it. Then it boggs down bad. I have adjusted the carburetor's idle and the motor still boggs. Does Shindaiwa just have a disorientation problem altogether?

Has anyone here ever purchased a Shindaiwa trimmer, only to return it to the store a few days later because of this sort of problem? This one is going back.

I'm calling tomorrow morning to that distant dealer. Maruyama for me! I should have known, if it ain't broke don't fix it.

P.S. I do love Stihl for hedge trimmers!

Scag48
09-15-2002, 10:46 PM
My Stihl FS 85RT does that too. It does it in cycles, though. It'll edge good for about 1 minute, no problem. I don't have long runs of edging, only on one job, so it's trim, edge, flip over and trim some more, constantly switching. One job that I have I have alot of edging where I have to edge for 2-3 minutes at a time. It will bog so I flip it over and run it, then continue. It kind pisses me off, my 'ol Homelite never did that! LOL. I don't know what the deal is but I sure would like to find out. BTW, I've got my idle screw set so that it idles low so the head doesn't spin AS much as it used to.

Ryan Lightning
09-15-2002, 10:49 PM
I bet its just the one you bought, Id go try another in the parking lot and see if it does the same thing.