PDA

View Full Version : Update on my Magna-Matic MAG-9000

Lagniappe
03-06-2011, 10:46 AM
Have had my Magna-Matic for a couple of weeks now, and just wanted to give a brief update on my purchase.

Unpacked everything, and the first thing I noticed was how well built this machine was. After I was done admiring it on the kitchen table, I took it out to the shop to put it to the test. After a phone call, mind you, at 6-7 pm, and spoke with a live person at Magna Matic, I resolved a couple of shipping issues, by tweeking the machine with members of the Bauer Family on speaker walking me through the whole process.

Now it was time I had been waiting for. I took three of my nastiest blades I had in the junk pile, and by the third blade, I wouldn't say I was an expert, but for the most part had it figured out. Tinkered out in the shop for alittle while longer, and saved myself $150 by ressurecting 3 sets of 3 blades, that will be back in service this year. The Magna-Matic had breathed new life into blades that were going to be thrown out.

The next day, I was telling my next door neighbor about the machine, (he has a lawn service as well, and he hands me a set over the fence to be sharpened. Within minutes, I walk his set around, ring his doorbell, and hand him his blades back, in a box (I ordered them from Magna-Matic). Watching him opening the box and look at his blades, reminded me of my girls (9 and 5 years old) like it was Christmas morning. He started digging for his wallet, and much to my grumbling, he made me take $15.00. Put that on an hourly rate, and it runs at $300 per hour. Kinda shoots holes in the "dollar a minute" theory that I hear everyone talking about.