PDA

View Full Version : Edgers???

derbyd137
03-07-2011, 06:41 PM
Hi all.
I'm am new to the business and I have a question pertaining edgers. I,ve been looking into lawn edging equipment and I'm leaning towards a Stihl stick type edger. As apposed to a small gas engine push type edger. As I said I am new to the business and have always used the push edger for my personal home use. I'm not sure about commercial use though. Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks
Karl from http://www.straightlinelawn.com

elitelawnteam1
03-07-2011, 06:51 PM
I prefer walk behind edgers, mainly because the stick edgers have a hard time cutting the overgrown areas. Don't get me wrong, stick edgers are nice, but only if you plan on edging the properties each week. I've got a McLane, and it's not bad, I use it for maintenance as well as overgrown areas. Also depends on your budget and what you can spend

StihlBR600
03-07-2011, 07:34 PM
I use a stihl stick edger and it does great. I only edge about every 3 to 4 weeks and i can basically run with it. Dont waste your time with a walk behind edger theres no point in getting something that is going to take more gas, space, and time. Just go with a stick edger and you wont regret it

ncknaklawns
03-08-2011, 01:42 AM
My FS110 kombi edger lacks the power through edging properties that are done once every 10 years. The dedicated ones probably have more power.

Merkava_4
03-08-2011, 02:20 AM
I love my McLane edger.

derbyd137
03-08-2011, 08:45 AM
Ok, for now any suggestions on what models and brand name for each type of edger.

ncknaklawns
03-08-2011, 09:31 AM
How often and what are you edging. If you do it every week I use a string trimmer and only use the metal blade occasionally not worth investing dollars. Use thin line and hold perpendiclar to the edge, eye protection a must.

derbyd137
03-08-2011, 09:42 AM
Maybe every other week

derbyd137
03-08-2011, 09:43 AM
Sidewalks and drives

ncknaklawns
03-08-2011, 10:32 AM