PDA

View Full Version : need gas hedge trimmer

DLS1
09-21-2002, 08:48 AM
Got a customer who wants a quote for trimming her overgrown large bushes ( 6 - 7 foot high) around her house. I need to buy a gas bush trimmer and don't want to spend alot of money since I don't think I will see many request for trimming bushes for yards I do. This is my first year.

What is a good gas trimmer and price?

How long of a cutting bar is good for small bushes and large bushes?

Does $5 for small bush and $10 for large bush sound reasonable price to charge?

Anything else to consider when buying a hedge trimmer?

AielLandscaping
09-21-2002, 10:43 AM
I need to buy a gas bush trimmer and don't want to spend alot of money since I don't think I will see many request for trimming bushes for yards I do. This is my first year.

if i were in your shoes i would buy a echo hca2400. this is the stick style clipper with an articulating (pivoting) clipper head. this is going to be 2-3 times more expensive then what you were probably considering but it is more then worth the extra cash. you can even reach things that are 10-12 feet high without using a ladder. here check it out

http://www.echo-usa.com/prods_list.asp?Category=HEDGECLIPPER

plus the other styles are extremely tiring on your back. you will find in time that some people are going to expect you to be able to trim bushes, and if you can't then they will find someone who can. do you want to risk having another lco, one that is offering a more complete service, stepping into your customers lawn and possibly stealling your customer to boot?

How long of a cutting bar is good for small bushes and large bushes?

i have a hc-2410, that has a single sided 40" bar. i've only used 2-3 times in over a year. bars that long in my opinion are only good for large square bushes. the hca2400 has a double sided 20" bar. but is by far more versitile and faster.