PDA

View Full Version : I Feel Like an Idiot!

Nomoslowmow
09-21-2002, 10:55 PM
I read here over and over how you guys use big mowers (36" +) on your residential customers. I have been using 21" mowers for these small lawn for 9+ years - am I stupid?

I use a TORO 32' WB for some larger back yards and the ditches of my 1+ acre customers. Everytime I try the 32" on the smaller (60' X 120' lot size) lawns, the results are embarassing compared to the smaller mowers. We did about 150 lawns this week with the 21" mowers and maybe 8 or 10 backyards with the 32" . The long wheelbase of the 32" seems to promote scalping. Our Bermuda grass lawns show every deviation in cutting height as you dip into the brown stem area - UHG!

The lawns here are rough because of poor grading and shoddy sprinker installations, but I see my competition happily mowing away with big mowers and big smiles, as my employees walk back and forth, back and forth.

Am I being too picky? Are the lawns in your area smoother so you get good results with the big mowers? Are your average lawns larger than mine so the bigger mowers work better? Do alot of customers not care about quality as long as they save money? Is my 32" Toro just a bad scalping machine?

Thanks for your help in advance!

Bob

rvsuper
09-21-2002, 11:02 PM
I used to have two Toro 21" wb's and I got two new 36" Prolines and it cut my time in half. I mainly use my walk behinds. I use the F-725 mainly for my comm. accounts and large open areas...I dont have too many of those anymore though. I'm thinking about buying a ZTR of some kind. Really interested in Toro and eXmark.

rkbrown
09-21-2002, 11:05 PM
Bob:

At what height are you ,owing the bermuda ?

Bunton Guy
09-21-2002, 11:12 PM
I have the same problem i have many bermuda lawns....i cut them at 3.5" and every time i hit the smallest bump it looks like its scalping.

Shady Brook
09-21-2002, 11:19 PM