PDA

View Full Version : my residential bid...opinions?

rywnygc
03-24-2011, 06:54 PM
I have focused mostly on mowing prior to this year, though I have plenty of landscape experience with companies that I have worked for. I am taking on some landscape jobs now.

Company background: 2 man crew, a third if needed. Licensed and insured.
No debt! One truck and trailer.

I did an estimate today on a spring cleanup. There are 6 beds. A total of 10.5 cubic yards of mulch is needed for 1700 sq ft. at a depth of 2 inches. There is already existing mulch. I will be raking off the top layer only. There are about 15 shrubs (boxwoods) to trim up. Property has easy access all around for wheelbarrows. The beds need very little edging.

I estimated 4-5 hours for mulch, 1 hour for trimming and 1 hour for clean up at the end, so 7 hours. I charged 35 a yard for the mulch (plus tax) and 420 for labor (7 hours) for a grand total of 819.66.

I think that we will finish in under 7 hours, probably about 5 as this is a very clean existing landscape.

What do you think? I feel this is a good estimate and bid, but I wanted to get some feedback from the guys who have done a lot of clean up bidding.

If you need more info, please ask. Thanks in advance for any feedback!

bigkid
03-24-2011, 09:45 PM
seems low but you know the market there better than me. I would be around 750 just for the mulch installed and that doesn't include any bed prep, edging, or shrub trimming.

rywnygc
03-24-2011, 09:59 PM