PDA

View Full Version : I have been "enlightened."

starry night
03-30-2011, 07:20 PM
On Feb. 1, I posted a pretty simple and straightforward question about uplighting vs. downlighting for a new home my wife and I are having built. Since then I have been doing a lot of studying on this forum and on various manufacturer or supplier websites.

(I have since read the sticky directed at do-it-yourselfers although in my original post I made no reference to being one. In fact, I mentioned that I was a professional landscaper.)

There were only two responses, one from James of Integra, who mainly suggested I seek out a lighting professional.

The other was from Steve Parrott of CAST who actually gave me a brief but useful answer. (Even though he was the author of the sticky which pretty much said "Don't ask questions like this." :)

Take note you other guys: Because of Steve's polite answer, his was the first website that I visited and I was amazed at what outdoor LV lighting could be.

I have looked at other websites including some of lighting installers on this forum and I have been enlightened and
I am very excited for the prospects of adding lighting to my business.

In a recent thread, I have noticed that some of the forum members are concerned about unqualified contractors getting into lighting without proper knowledge. Don't worry about those like me. I have been in business for 25 years and pride myself on my knowledge and experience. I plan to attend one of those "dreaded" one-day seminars soon just to get started. I am blessed with a wonderful sense of design, plus I know plants, but will probably end up hiring an electrical apprentice.

Thanks again for "showing me the light" and the possibilities of enhancing landscaping with LV lighting

emby
03-30-2011, 08:16 PM
Hello dirtandhoops,

Welcome to the forum.