PDA

View Full Version : Need help with hand tools

hostolawnservice
03-30-2011, 11:16 PM
I'm new to the business, mainly mowing. However a couple of the older customers of mine are requesting me to refresh the mulch in the landscape beds. I have some old cheap hand tools, but I'm thinking of investing in some better quality tools. I'm hoping that some of the seasoned landscape professionals on this site can point me in the right direction as far as quality tools. When I say hand tools I am talking about wheel barrows, shovels, rakes-i.e.. I have been looking at Jackson and Rigid. But have also seen Ames. I guess what I am looking for is a good brand of commercial grade tools. Any help is greatly appreciated and Thank You.

PerfectEarth
03-30-2011, 11:20 PM
Razorback
Wolverine
Midwest Rake Company
Corona rakes
Felco pruners
Kenyon tools
Union tools

Stay away from the crappy HD tool section. Places like John Deere Landscapes and larger rental yards that have supplies in their "showrooms" carry nicer tools.

scagrider22
03-31-2011, 03:15 AM
Razorback
Wolverine
Midwest Rake Company
Corona rakes
Felco pruners
Kenyon tools
Union tools

Stay away from the crappy HD tool section. Places like John Deere Landscapes and larger rental yards that have supplies in their "showrooms" carry nicer tools.

Most of the tools you named are sold at HD. :drinkup:

To the OP, if your a small company I would use craftsmen, you can exchange any craftsmen brand hand tool if you break it, you dont even need the receipt. If you have employees I would buy a higher quality tool. I buy some of my hand tools from A.M. Leonard.

93Chevy
03-31-2011, 06:37 AM
AM Leonard have some of the best tools. You pay for them, but if you use them yourself, they should last you dang near forever.

Lucasdad
03-31-2011, 10:11 AM
You can also buy kobalt hand tools from lowes and they have a lifetime warranty with no receipt required and much easier to find locations than a sears.
Posted via Mobile Device