PDA

View Full Version : What would you charge?

Matt Hermann
03-31-2011, 06:19 AM
If you had to go out and estimate a mulch job (physically measure each bed to see how much mulch to get, or however you measure it, and say it came to 42 yards.)

How much would you charge the customer, I know everybodys price will be diffrrent because of the different areas, but I'd like to know what everyone would be at if you dont mind me asking.

So, It's a 42 yard job, every bed needs to be edged. Some leaves in the beds, not many, a few sticks here and there, but overall not too bad on the prepping time except for hand/machine edging every bed.

What would you estimate to the guy be?

Also, say the price of mulch around here is average $30yd black dye. But there is one place that gets it at $26 a yard, would you not mark it up since it's a big job? Or mark it up to the regular 30$ a yard price

Thanks for all the help!
Matt

vencops
03-31-2011, 07:40 AM
I'm kinda new at this, too (LCO work....not estimating projects). When in doubt, you can always estimate your time (in the end, it comes down to this, anyway) and multiply that / hrly rate.

I've seen guys say they use a set $$/CY mulch. That's wonderful, if that works for them. I'll probably get to the point where I do that, in the future. Using that method, you're still a slave to how long (____CY) takes to install, though. Miss your time estimate in either scenario, and you're losing money (based on your estimate).

I'm not trying to tell you the absolute "right" way to do your estimate. I'm just telling you what I'd do. When in doubt, use est. time/hrly rate.

Good luck.

yardatwork
03-31-2011, 08:49 AM
Without knowing how many linear feet there are to edge...can't give you a rough price. Also...is it new edging or refining the edge? If it's a new edge with a spade shovel...charge around $1.00 per foot. If you're using a stick edger to touch up an existing edge...maybe go as low as $.50 a foot.