PDA

View Full Version : Plants that Deer don't eat?

Matt Hermann
04-10-2011, 07:28 PM
Need to install a few shrubs in a bed against my customer's house. He wants plants that the deer WILL NOT eat. We live in S. Jersey and the deer are terrible. He also wants about 3-4 shrubs, keeping the price per shrub down, also nothing higher than your knees, but it can eventually grow to be bigger. What do you guys suggest that the deer will not touch? (he wants to stay from rhododendrons). Sorry for all the questions, I'm new to all this.

Matt

Leo the Landscaper
04-10-2011, 07:34 PM
What are the site conditions, other than deer pressure? Sun, shade, well drained or not, directional exposure?

93Chevy
04-10-2011, 09:13 PM
I've never seen a deer eat any boxwood. Japonica are also deer-resistant, however not foolproof.

jbc1013
04-10-2011, 09:23 PM
Here's a good link from Cornell U. http://www2.dnr.cornell.edu/ext/info/pubs/Wildliferesistance%20of%20woody%20ornamentla%20plats%20ot%20Deer%20Damage.pdf
They classify them into "rarely damaged", and so on. For evergreen, low growing, I think ilex glabra is a good choice. Boxwood are another they rarely eat, and there are a number of low growing varieties. Abelia is another, and has some flowers in the summer. For deciduous, spirea and buddelia are but a few of the resistant shrubs out there.

Matt Hermann
04-11-2011, 01:58 PM
Any other ideas?
Posted via Mobile Device

Mark Oomkes
04-11-2011, 02:21 PM
Evergreen?

Any of the hollies are good choices.

Pyracantha? Not sure on this one, but I can't imagine they would.

Groomer
04-11-2011, 02:29 PM
artificialus plasticus.

ron mexico75
04-11-2011, 02:33 PM
1. Aronia arbutifolia ‘Brilliantissima’ (Brilliant Red Chokeberry) Grows to 6 or 8 ft. in height

2. Buxus ‘Green Mountain’ (Green Mountain Boxwood) Evergreen shrub; upright, 5 ft. high and 3 ft. wide

3. Clethra alnifolia (Summersweet) 6 to 8 ft. height with 4 to 6 ft. spread