PDA

View Full Version : Paperwork Help!!

born2farm
04-11-2011, 09:47 PM
OK guys. Here is my problem. This is my first year doing everything 100% legal and actually running myself like a professional company. I am doing good as far as marketing and getting the work but I feel that I am lackin in the paperwork side of it. I am very picky and organized but I am not sure that I am keeping all of the appropriate paperwork and have a very good system set up. Anybody care to share a brief summary of how they do theirs? Here is what I do now:

1)Print out estimate.
2)Keep copy of estimate in a folder for that customer.
3)When accepted. Give copy of contract to them and keep copy in folder.
4)When completed I bill and keep a copy of the bill with any receipts for the job attached.
5)Once the money comes in, the bill is marked paid with cash or a check # and then filed away and a receipt is written. All expense receipts are filed in the expense folder and the copy of the bill is filed in the income folder.

WheatBookkeeping
04-21-2011, 03:17 PM
Wow! you are totally organized. You have chosen to start with your customer file which is good. Here are some other files you should consider as your business grows. Organize them just as well and you should be golden.

Donít forget to get started with a real comprehensive bookkeeping system also. It will create electronic files of your financial transactions. A Computerized Bookkeeping System should have the ability to record, categorize, sort, and retain all business financial transactions. Also, it should retrieve, display and report (your financial statements) all transaction.

List of files I have seen maintained by businesses like yours: I am sure there are other things to consider - so be on the look out.
1. Customer files (you got this one going already)

2. Vendor files - (guys you buy stuff from)

3. Business Operation type files (files that tell the story of your business)

Bank, credit card and loan records files