PDA

View Full Version : How do they do it?

StBalor
04-14-2011, 07:22 PM
Lost yet another bid today. It was a mulching job, 11,200 sq. ft. by my calculations thats 104 yrds of mulch. customer wanted a full 3" of mulch spread over the entire area. lots of weeding and lots of edging. turned in a low, low price of 5200.00 that included weeding edging and mulch.

I was under bid. the lady i have been working for , for 4 years told me she went with another company that gave her a bid of 1800.00
I could not even get the mulch for that price. How can someone do this job so cheap?

I am about to give up on pricing mulch jobs. Last year i was getting 100.00 yrd. but that included trimming shrubs and edging. this year i can't get 50.00 yrd. so how can they do it for 18.00 a yrd, pull weeds and edge? Sounds like this other company just has alot of free time on their hands and doing jobs for cost of Materials.

Premier landscaping south
04-14-2011, 07:59 PM
Landfill mulch?

johnnybow
04-14-2011, 08:11 PM
That sucks, i dont know how they can do that for that price. Probably has illegals working for them.

denis35
04-14-2011, 08:21 PM
That's insane, I just laid 12 yards of CUSTOMER SUPPLIED MULCH today for $420. Edging was billed seperatly at 1 dollar per linear foot, for a total of 640
Posted via Mobile Device

StBalor
04-14-2011, 08:22 PM
Landfill mulch?

I was thinking the same thing. but they do not load you here, you have to shovel it in your vehicle. Thats alot of shoveling for crappy mulch.

THEGOLDPRO
04-14-2011, 08:27 PM
i just did a 20 yard mulch job and charged $1800 for labor and mulch. lol i cant imagine doing 100+ yards for the same price.

White Gardens
04-14-2011, 08:35 PM
Even at wholesale, reasonably good hardwood mulch would cost more than the bid itself.