PDA

View Full Version : under brush clearing where to start

johnyredd99
04-15-2011, 09:27 PM
I have a customer that wants the underbrush in her woods cleared out. I started to clear out the lighter growth and the down branches but then made it to this really thick stuff. I am just not sure what to use or how to go about getting this done.. I was thinking maybe a bush hog but not sure. My other thought were using the bucket on kubota to try and back drag to break it up. I am just not sure... Normally I would turn down the job but I have been doing the part time thing for 8 years and decided this would be the year to go full time. so i can not walk away from the money. Thanks for any advice

White Gardens
04-15-2011, 09:39 PM
I would do two things.

Use a long, articulating, extended reach hedge trimmer to cut anything up to 2 inches.

http://www.stihlusa.com/graphics/hedgetrimmers/HL100K-135.gif

Then I would use a 12-14 inch light arborist saw to cut down the rest.

http://www.stihlusa.com/graphics/chainsaws/MS192TCE.gif

At that point you could use your tractor to clean up the mess when your done.

Oakleaf landscape
04-15-2011, 11:22 PM
IDK what kid of weed eater you have but most of them allow you to put a blade on the head. Will go through anything pretty much... That's what I would use for the brush, then a chain saw for anything over 3 in.
Here's a few ideas.
http://www.stihlusa.com/trimmers/blades.html

bmac1996acc
04-16-2011, 08:43 AM
Clearing saw
http://www.husqvarna.com/us/landscape-and-groundcare/products/brushcutters/343fr/

Smallaxe
04-16-2011, 10:15 AM
Chainsaws for this kind of thing usually means a lot of bending over, and chains jumping off every 2 minute... A circular brush blade attachment on a basic engine unit, will give you a nice length and enough power to take it all down.