PDA

View Full Version : Paver Driveway help

iluvpizza
04-20-2011, 01:39 PM
Hi everyone,

I'm in need of some advice. My parents want me to do some work for them this includes, 900sq.ft(60'x15,)drive way, 120sq.ft walk(20x3) steps to front door, 650sq.ft patio (variable widths and lengths) 2 retaining walls one 150' long and the other 50'.

I've done retaining walls, patios, and crushed stone driveways. I've never done a paver driveway before. Here are some problems I am having:

I recommended to my parents to use at least a 4" paver for the driveway due to the vehicles they own(2 ,3/4 ton pickups, a suburban, and a calssic car that sits in one spot for most the spring and summer) they can't find any 4" pavers they like, and really don't want to buy any over the internet. Do you think that 4" thick pavers are over kill?

I'm using a geotextile fabric, then 18" of #2 crusher run http://www.elamsand.com/stone.php compacted every 3 inches, for the paver setting I'm using 1" layer of stone dust and topping of the pavers with polymeric sand. I'm unsure if I should use geo-grid or not. I am located in NY (it can only help right?)

Both my parents and I are using this as a learning experience. I just want to make sure the driveway last longer then I do, and that it has minimal maintenance issues. Thanks for reading.

OutdoorCreations
04-20-2011, 02:08 PM
Check out Tech Bloc, they have a lot of thicker stuff that would work well for driveway applications. They have some of the best looking stuff as well (in my opinion).

yardworks, inc.
04-20-2011, 02:36 PM
Sounds like u need to hire somebody. Your base should be DOT Road Base, and use 1 inch of sand as your bedding material, no stone dust. Go check the icpi standards. You do not need a "4 inch" paver.

iluvpizza
04-20-2011, 07:31 PM
Thanks for the advice! I just checked out the
Interlocking Concrete Pavement Institute website they have a ton of information that helps!