PDA

View Full Version : Need advice on a ZTR

lawnreaper
04-22-2011, 12:15 PM
New to the forum and looking for some help.
I'm not a professional per say, but I do have a commercial account (a townhome complex with about 3 acres of mowing) and I have 2 acres of yard to mow also. I would like to increase accounts, but nothing crazy. I am a teacher and a football and track coach, so I am looking to add jobs during the summer to supplement my income. Maybe two or three more accounts tops would be about as much as I could handle.
My question is this. Is this really enough acreage to justify buying a commercial grade lawn mower? My local dealer has a 48" Exmark Quest for 3800 right now (Except its the 2010 camo version). $4000 is about as much as I can spend. How long would a Quest last with my yard and hypothetically 5 more acres of commercial business? Or do I need to bite the bullet and buy commercial?
I hate to say it, but I have been looking at the Z Beast from HD. I contacted beastpowerequipment last week about getting a demo at a local HD store and still have gotten no response though which turns me off. Don't want to turn this into a Beast conversation, there's enough of those on here. Thoughts from guys who run smaller operations? What kind of equipment do I really need?
I'm not picky, sadly enough I started mowing this acreage last year with 38" Craftsman lawn tractor I got for free from my neighbor. Needless to say I felt like I needed back surgery last year:laugh:

pugs
04-22-2011, 12:46 PM
For what you are doing I would go with something a bit better. If you dont have the cash, go for a commercial walkbehind to start out with. It will be far better/faster than a craftsman tractor and will hold up for years.

I am not too familiar with the Quest but generally in the 4-5k range you are looking at high end homeowner/very low end commercial for a ZTR. That type of machine I would recommend for a homeowner doing 2-3 acres themselves only.

StanWilhite